India is my father’s country, no one can force me to leave: Asaduddin Owaisi lashes out at Yogi Adityanath


AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi has lashed out at Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath hours after the latter warned that the MP from Hyderabad will have to leave Telangana if the BJP came to power in the state.

Accusing Adityanath of being an illiterate, Owaisi said at an election rally, “You don’t know history because you are zero in history. If you are illiterate, then ask those who know how to read. If you were educated, then you would know that the Nizam never fled from Hyderabad. He was made head of the state. The Nizam sold his gold during India’s war with China.”

The AIMIM MP also reminded the Uttar Pradesh chief minister how hundreds of children had died in Gorakhpur due to non-availability of oxygen last year. Adityanath had represented the city five times in Lok Sabha before being appointed as the state’s chief minister in March last year. His party, the BJP, suffered a humiliating defeat in a bypoll earlier this year after he vacated the seat.

Owaisi said, “In his constituency (Gorakhpur), 150 children die of encephalitis every year. Yogi, children are dying and pharmacies in your Gorakhpur don’t have oxygen. You don’t worry about that. You are coming here to create a boundary of hatred.”

The number of children dying in Gorakhpur is sifgnificantly higher than what was quoted by Owaisi. More than 400 children had died of encephalitis here in August last year. There are reports of hundreds of more children dying since then.

Owaisi also asked Yogi if India belonged to him and his party. He asked, “Is this country just yours, not mine? Will you push me out of the country if I criticise the BJP, Modi and his politics, the RSS and Yogi?”

Speaking in an election rally in Hyderabad, Adityanath had said, “If BJP comes to power I assure you Owaisi will have to flee from Telangana the same way Nizam was forced to flee from Hyderabad.”

Telangana goes to polls on 7 December while the counting will take place on 11 December. Results for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram too will be announced the same day.