In rare sign of humility, PM Modi concedes defeat, thanks voters of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh


Prime Minister Narendra Modi has conceded his party’s defeat in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh assembly elections. This is perhaps the first time that Modi has conceded his party’s defeat.

He tweeted, “We accept the people’s mandate with humility. I thank the people of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan for giving us the opportunity to serve these states. The BJP Governments in these states worked tirelessly for the welfare of the people.”

The Congress on Tuesday performed exceedingly well to unseat the ruling BJP from Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh and is all set to form government in Madhya Pradesh.

Chief Ministers of Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, Dr Raman Singh and Vasundhara Raje, too resigned while accepting defeat in their respective states.

in his subsequent tweet, Modi also congratulated Congress and TRS for their ‘victories.’ He wrote, Congratulations to the Congress for their victories. Congratulations to KCR Garu for the thumping win in Telangana and to the Mizo National Front (MNF) for their impressive victory in Mizoram.”

In his last tweet, Modi thanked his workers for their contribution in the polls. He wrote, “Victory and defeat are an integral part of life. Today’s results will further our resolve to serve people and work even harder for the development of India.”