Bulandshahr violence: 27 named in police FIR reportedly include members from Bajrang Dal, VHP and Hindu Yuva Vahini founded by Yogi Adityanath


Horrified by the gruesome murder of police inspector Subodh Kumar Singh in Bulandshahr, the Uttar Pradesh Police have booked as many as 27 individuals belonging to militant Hindutva outfits, Bajrang Dal, Vishwa Hindu Parishad, Shiv Sena and Hindu Yuva Vahini, an organisation floated by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. They include Yogesh Raj (see below), the Bajrang Dal district convenor. The individuals have been termed as the main conspirators and booked booked under section 302 and several other stringent sections of the IPC.

Individuals named in the FIR are Yogesh Raj, Vishal Tyagi, Satendra Rajput, Chaman, Devendra, Upendra Raghav, Ravi Sainu, Ashish Chouhan, Shikhar Agarwal, Rajkumar Pradhan, Jeetu, Sachin, Ramesh Jogi, Vineet, Sourabh, Sumeet, Chotu, Satish, Vikas Tyagi, Pawan, Vikrant Tyagi, Bablu, Ankur, Robin, Tinku, Guddu, Harendra. They are all the residents of Syana tehsil in Bulandshahr, where the violent Hindutva mob killed police officer Singh on rumours of cow slaughters.

Police have also arrested five individuals named in the FIR. This also includes Yogesh Raj.

Shikhar Agarwal, who has been named in the FIR, is a functionary of BJP’s youth wing in Syana, while Upendra Raghav allegedly belongs to the Vishwa Hindu Parishad, stated several media reports.

Singh was murdered by Hindu terrorists in Bulandshahr on Monday as he made desperate attempts to placate them during their protests over rumours of a cow slaughter in the area. Incidentally, Singh was also the investigating officer of Mohammad Akhlaq’s lynching case and was instrumental in having all the accused arrested in 2015.

The revelation has further enraged members of the civil society and journalists alike. Here are some of the reactions on the latest development: