India jump to No.2 spot in Test rankings after 3-0 win over S. Africa


The Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team has jumped to the second place in the ICC Test Championship table after winning the four-Test series against South Africa 3-0 in Delhi on Monday.

The series result helped India, who started the series at the fifth position, gain 10 points that lifted it from 100 points to 110 points and ahead of Australia and Pakistan, as both teams slipped one place each to third and fourth, respectively.

Hashim Amla’s South Africa retained their number one Test ranking but their lead at the top has been slashed by 12 points — from 16 points to just four points.

India have no more Test matches before the annual April 1 cut-off date for determining the No. 1 team for the ICC’s cash prize .

But third-ranked Australia will host eighth-ranked West Indies in a three-Test series from 10 December, sixth-ranked New Zealand will go head to head with seventh-ranked Sri Lanka also from 10 December, while fifth-ranked England will travel to South Africa for a four-Test series which will start in Durban on 26 December.

To finish as the number-one ranked Test side at the annual cut-off date of 1 April, South Africa will have to, at least, draw the series with England. Its failure to do so, will result in it falling from the top pedestal and handing the number-one position to Australia (provided it wins the series against the West Indies by 3-0).


ICC Test Championship (as on 7 December, after the conclusion of India-South Africa Test series)

Rank   Team              Points

1          South Africa   114

2          India                110

3          Australia         109

4          Pakistan          106

5          England           99

6          New Zealand   95

7          Sri Lanka        93

8          West Indies     76

9          Bangladesh     47

10        Zimbabwe       5

Previous articlePCB deadline for BCCI: Tell us by Monday if India can play series
Next articleDelhi Daredevils ends Kirsten contract after two abysmal IPL seasons