British PM Theresa May wins no confidence vote by 200-117 votes


Theresa May has won the no confidence vote within her party by 200 votes to 117 – a majority of 83. This was after the required 48 letters calling for a contest were delivered to Sir Graham Brady, head of the 1922 Committee of Tory backbenchers. Despite Wednesday’s win, May has announced that she will not lead her party in the next general elections.

May was elected as the prime minister soon after the UK voted in favour of leaving the European Union.

Theresa May


Reacting to the development, May had said that she will contest the no confidence vote. She said, “I will contest that vote with everything I’ve got.”

A report by The Guardian said that Sir Graham Brady, the chair of the 1922 Committee, received at least 48 letters from Conservative MPs calling for a vote of no confidence in May. Under party rules, a contest is triggered if 15% of Conservative MPs write to the chair of the committee of Tory back-benchers, the report added.

If May manages to secure majority, she cannot be challenged for another year.

Sir Graham said a ballot would be held between 6pm and 8pm on Wednesday in the Commons. He added in a statement, “The votes will be counted immediately afterwards and the result will be announced as soon as possible in the evening.”

The British parliament recently debated over how May had negotiated the Brexit deals with the EU with many of cabinet colleagues resigning after expressing their displeasure. The parliament was expected to vote on her Brexit negotiations but May had dramatically put on hold the crunch Commons vote after admitting she was heading for a heavy defeat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here