Liverpool are Champions League champions for 6th time. Here are top five teams with most number of Champions League titles


English football club Liverpool has defeated London’s Tottenham Spurs in the Champions League final to become the Champions of Europe for the sixth time. The all-English final saw Liverpool beat Tottenham 2-0 in Madrid to win the coveted trophy.

Champions League

Two goals scored by Liverpool came from Mohamed Salah, who made no mistake in converting the penalty in the 2nd minute of the match. This was the second fastest ever goal scored in a Champions League final. Substitute Divock Origi made the lead 2-0 in the 87th minute.

Many experts believed that Tottenham were the better team tonight with 65% ball possession and with 8 shots on target as opposed to 35% ball possession and just three shots on target by Liverpool.

Former Tottenham player and football pundit Jermaine Jenas told BT Sport, “The Spurs players have done their club proud, the journey they took the club on has never been done before.”

Ex-Chelsea player Chris Sutton told BBC sport, “Spurs didn’t do enough, they didn’t trouble Alisson in the first half. In the second half they improved, in fairness they gave it a go, but the better team – the more efficient team – won.”

Former Liverpool and England star Michael Owen told BT Sport, “Who cares whether they played well or poorly? This team is in an unbelievable cycle right now and they have to win trophies, so why not start with the big one?”

Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold said, “It is hard to put into words. The season we have had, we deserved it more than any other team. We have done something special, we dominated the game.

“We will not look back and think it was sluggish game, we will see we are European champions. I am just a normal lad from Liverpool whose dream has just come true.”

Real Madrid have won the Champions League for a record 12 times, while Italian giant AC Milan has been declared the Champions of Europe on seven occasions. German team Bayern Munich and Spanish club Barcelona have won the trophy five times each, while the Dutch side Ajax has emerged victorious on four occasions.

Last week, Chelsea had won the Europa Cup final by beating Arsenal.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here