Heartbreak for India as they go down fighting 1-3 to Australia in Champions Trophy final


Indian hockey team on Sunday faced yet another disappointment when they went down 1-3 to Australia in penalty shootout in the Champions Trophy hockey final in Breda, the Netherlands. With this win, Australia have now won the Champions Trophy title a record 15th time.

Champions Trophy

Australia had led the match 1-0 with Kiran Govers’s goal for most part of the match until India’s Vivek Sagar Prasad equalised by converting the penalty corner. With the match levelled at 1-1 at full time, it went to penalty shootout.

During penalty shootout, Sardar Singh hit directly on the Aussie ‘keeper pads, thereby squandering India’s early opportunity. Although Harmanpreet scored but his goal was denied he had taken more than 8 seconds.  Manpreet scored keeping India’s hope alive but it wasn’t enough to stop Australia from lifting the trophy. For Australia, goalkeeper Tyler Lovell was their hero.

In their last game, Indian men’s hockey team had forced a 1-1 draw against hosts Netherlands in their last league match to set up the Champions Trophy summit clash with world number one Australia..

Today’s final was a repeat of the 2016 edition when Australia got the better of India via a controversial penalty shootout.

While India had to be contend with their second consecutive silver medal, hosts Netherlands took away the bronze beating Olympic champions Argentina 2-0 in the third-fourth place match.

Belgium finished fifth after beating Pakistan 2-1 in the penalty shoot-off after both the teams were levelled at 2-2 at the end of 60 minutes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here