After Pakistan and India, Bangladesh thrash South Africa by 9 wickets to win ODI series 2-1


Bangladesh registered their first-ever series win against South Africa when they won the third and deciding ODI match by nine wickets (with 83 balls remaining) at Chittagong on Wednesday.

The win is historic considering it caps Bangladesh’s fourth-successive series victory at their home after earlier beating Zimbabwe, Pakistan and India in a row.

In reply to South Africa’s 168/9 in 40 overs of a rain-curtailed match, Bangladesh raced towards the target, posting 170/1 in just 26.1 overs. Soumya Sarkar (90) and Tamim Iqbal (61 not out) stitched together a quick 154-run stand for the opening wicket. Both the batsmen were quick to dispatch loose deliveries and they scored runs at a brisk pace, while taking the attack to the opposition.

Earlier, Bangladesh bowlers Shakib al Hasan (three wickets) and Mashrafe Mortaza (one wicket) both joined the 200-wicket club in ODIs. Shakib also earned the distinction of becoming the quickest player to score over 4000 runs and take 200 wickets at the same time.

This is also the first time Bangladesh has won an ODI series after having lost the first match.

On Sunday, Bangladesh had won only for the second time at the international stage against South Africa, with which they had squared the three-match series 1-1 before heading to Chittagong for the final match.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here