Amma returns tomorrow


AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa was today unanimously elected its Legislature Party Leader, paving the way for her return as a chief minister of Tamil Nadu for the fourth time.

During an early morning meeting held at around 7am, party MLAs elected her unanimously, party sources confirmed to news agency PTI.

Also Read:  ट्विटर पर पाकिस्तानी महिला से भिड़े ऋषि कपूर, बोले- 'बड़ों से बात करने की तमीज नहीं है आपको'

Party Treasurer and Chief Minister O Panneeerselvam forwarded the motion to elect her as legislature party leader which was seconded by Electricity Minister Natham R Vishwanathan, the sources said, adding, it was adopted unanimously.

A beaming Cooperative Minister, Sellur K Raju, when asked if Jayalalithaa had been elected as LPP leader, said: “this is the happiest day of our life.”

Also Read:  16 suspected right-wing terrorists arrested in Alwar lynching incident: Police

Jayalalitha was disqualified following her conviction in the Rs 66.66 crore disproportionate assets case by a trial court in Bengaluru on September 27.

The Karnataka High Court had subsequently acquitted her of the charges on May 11.

Also Read:  UK PM under fire from own party and opposition for just delayed rejection of Trump's Muslim ban

Jayalalithaa is later expected to stake claim for forming the government, with the resignation of incumbent Panneerselvam being a mere formality. She will be meeting the Governor at 1:30pm today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here