Wimbledon 2015: Sumit Nagal wins junior boys’ doubles title, adds to India’s rich haul


India’s Sumit Nagal has entered the history books as only the sixth from the country to win a Grand Slam junior title after he and his Vietnamese partner Nam Hoang Ly beat fourth seeds Reilly Opelka and Akira Santillan 7 -6(4), 6-4 to win the junior boys’ doubles title at Wimbledon on Sunday. The match lasted just 63 minutes.

Also Read:  Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal tears into PM Modi, asks "Why are you scared of Sonia Gandhi?"

Yuki Bhambri was the last Indian to win a major in the juniors category when he won the Australian Open boys singles title in 2009.

The other junior Grand Slam champions from India are Ramanathan Krishnan (Wimbledon, 1954), Ramesh Krishnan (French Open and Wimbledon, 1979) and Leander Paes (Wimbledon 1990, US Open 1991).

Also Read:  Senior Congress functionary punished for putting up poster with cash reward for Prashant Kishor

Before, Sania Mirza had also won the junior girls’ doubles title at Wimbledon in 2003 with Russian partner Alisa Kleybanova.

Wimbledon 2015 has been one full of joy for India with Leander Paes winning the mixed doubles title along  with Martina Hingis for his 16th major title. Earlier on Saturday, Sania Mirza, partnering Hingis, won her first ladies’ doubles title and her first Wimbledon title.

Also Read:  Uttarakhand High Court orders officials to seal EVMs in six more assembly constituencies that went to polls in February



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here