Amartya Sen urges non-communal parties to unite for 2019 polls, BJP attacks Nobel laureate


Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has urged all non-communal political parties to form an alliance against the BJP for 2019 Lok Sabha elections. He said that the Left parties should also not hesitate in joining the alliance since democracy was in ‘danger.’

Amartya Sen

“We must express our opposition to autocracy, we must fight against their autocratic trends, we must criticise the issues where we need to oppose the non-communal right wing forces, but we must not take back our hands when it comes to fighting communalism which is the biggest threat,” Sen was quoted as saying.

He went to add, “What happened in the 2014 polls? A party having received 55 per cent seats but actually having secured 31 per cent of the total votes came to power…I think democracy is in danger but we can rectify it. If we say democracy is under threat, we can be beaten up by some people. But still we, the people, can do the rectification. It is not like a sinking boat which we all should abandon.”

The BJP reacted angrily saying that ‘intellectuals like Sen’ were losing touch with ‘reality.’  News18 quoted West Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh saying, “Intellectuals like Sen, who had always professed a Left ideology, are losing touch with reality.

“Sen had said CPI (M) is getting invisible. Nothing can be truer than this, nothing can be truer than the fact that people like Sen, a Marxist, have little relevance in the present times.”

In 2014, the BJP with 31% vote share had secured the much-needed majority to form the government at the Centre. This was because the opposition parties had fought separately without an alliance, resulting in the division of non-communal votes.

However, many regional parties have already come together to form an alliance against the BJP and the results have been heartening for them. Not too long ago, the alliance between the Samajwadi Party, BSP and the RLD in Uttar Pradesh saw them sweep by-elections. This was the state, where the BJP had won 71 out of 80 seats in 2014.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here