Voting underway in 55 seats of seven districts of Bihar


Voting began on Sunday in the fourth and penultimate phase of the Bihar elections involving 55 assembly constituencies, including 12 affected by Maoists, in the state’s flood-prone belt.

Also Read:  Ready to debate on reservation: Nitish tells Modi

As many as 1,47,39,120 lakh voters are eligible to decide the fate of 776 candidates in fray in 55 of the 243 assembly constituencies spread over Gopalganj, Siwan, West Champaran, East Champaran, Sheohar, Sitamarhi and Muzaffarpur districts.

Also Read:  Goans take to streets to protest against BJP government, placards say #NotMyCM

Paramilitary forces have been deployed at all polling booths and drones would be used for the first time for surveillance, officials said.

The Election Commission has ordered sealing of the international border with Nepal and while security forces in the districts bordering Nepal are on alert.

Also Read:  SC upholds Kerala govt's decision to close down bars


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here