Voting for 56 West Bengal assembly seats underway


West Bengal’s 56 seats are going for polls in the second phase of assembly elections. Voting began on Sunday morning amidst tight security.

More than 1.2 crore electorate are likely to cast their votes to decide the fates of 383 candidates, that include 33 women, in six north Bengal districts of Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Malda and Birbhum in south Bengal.



According to ANI, Voting at two polling stations in Malda was delayed by 20 minutes due to technical problem in EVM.

Also Read | Defiant Mamata tells EC, ‘do whatever you like’

In the remaining constituencies voting will conclude at 6 PM.


As reported by PTI, high-profile electoral battle in this phase would be witnessed at Siliguri where its mayor and former CPI-M minister Ashok Bhattacharya is contesting against former Indian football captain and TMC candidate Bhaichung Bhutia.

State ministers Gautam Deb, Krishnendu Narayan Chowdhury and Sabitri Mitra are also in the poll fray in this phase of election.

Soumitra Ray, singer of popular Bengali band ‘Bhoomi’, actors Joy Banerjee and Locket Chatterjee and singer Suman Banerjee are also trying their luck in the world of politics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here