Voters complain of returning home without casting votes as EVM glitches reported from Mumbai, Rajasthan, Odisha, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh,


Voting had to be halted in several states after EVMs were reported to be malfunctioning. In the early rounds of polling, EVMs were said to have developed a technical snag yet again in states like West Bengal, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.

EVM glitches
File photo

A report by News18 said that voting had been halted after a technical fault was reported in an EVM at a polling booth in Uttar Pradesh’s Hamirpur. Samajwadi Party spokesperson Juhie Singh tagged the Election Commission on Twitter for urgent action since, according to her, EVMs were not working in Gauratha assembly segment at 377,378 booths.

Odisha’s Kalinga TV reported that voting had to be stopped at booth no 83 in Dhamnagar under Bodaka panchayat in the state due to a ‘faulty’ EVM. According to Odisha TV, voting was also delayed at booth number 115 of Dharmasala, booth number 110 of Bari and booth number 96 of Jajpur following a technical snag in EVMs.  Voting was also delayed due to EVM glitches in Kakatpur, Nimapara, Paradip and multiple places in Kujanga.

Technical glitches affecting the functioning of EVMs were also reported from Rajasthan’s Pali, Deoli, and Bhinai in Ajmer district, reported Hindustan Times. Earlier news agency ANI reported that voting was delayed at booth numbers 286/184 and 286/185 in Bolpur after a glitch in EVMs was detected.

News agency ANI reported that voting is yet to begin at booth number 162 of Malad West in Mumbai after a glitch in EVM was detected.

Many voters also took to social media to post their woes and how hundreds of voters had to return home without casting votes.

EVM malfunctioning has become a routine occurance in India’s elections. This has given rise to suspicion that voting machines had been tampered with to suit a particular political party. In the third phase of the polls, a BJP candidate had received 17 votes during a mock polling even though he was only allotted nine votes. The AAP Goa chief had called it an ‘election of shame’ forcing the Election Commission to change the ‘entire set of EVM.’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here