Virat Kohli leaves even Sachin Tendulkar behind, creates history at ICC Awards


Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli has created a history by winning three top honours at the ICC Cricket Awards this year. He won Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year,  ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year and ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year. And if this was not enough, he was also named the captain of ICC’s ODI and Test teams for 2018.

Virat Kohli

Kohli has become the first cricketer ever to win these accolades at the ICC Awards. Even India’s batting legend Sachin Tendulkar could not win all three awards in one year.

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game,” Kohli was quoted as saying by

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation,” he added.

Kohli has been in the best form of his life with having scored scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests that included 5 centuries in the calendar year. He also scored 1202 runs in 14 ODI at an average of 133.55 with 6 tons. India recently beat Australia for the first time in both Test and ODI series Down Under under his captaincy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here