Venkaiah Naidu disqualifies rebel JDU MPs Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar from Rajya Sabha


Rajya Sabha Chairperson M. Venkaiah Naidu on Monday disqualified the rebel Janata Dal-United MPs Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar. Both the leaders had openly crticised Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for aligning with the BJP to form the government in the state.

Sharad Yadav

However, far from being fazed by the decision, Yadav took to Twitter to maintain his resolve that he will continue to fight to save democracy.

He tweeted on Tuesday, “I am disqualified from Rajya Sabha as Mahagathbandan which was formed to defeat NDA in Bihar & after 18 months to break it & joining NDA to remain in power & if to speak against this undemocratic style is my fault I will continue to fight to save democracy.”

Veteran CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury questioned the speed with which Naidu had executed his order to disqualify Yadav and Anwar.

In a series of tweets, he wrote, ” Like Ceasar’s wife, the Rajya Sabha Chairman’s decisions must be above questioning. But
the disqualification of Rajya Sabha MPs Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwer casts a shadow. The petition was filed on September 2 and the decision is out on December 4. The speed is mind-boggling. Similar cases are pending in Lok Sabha for over a year. So political affiliation is the only thing that matters?”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here