Who will Varanasi’s weavers vote for in assembly elections?


Janta Ka Reporter’s editor-in-chief, Rifat Jawaid, visited one area in Varanasi North constituency and spoke to some weavers. They expressed their anger and disgust for Modi’s demonetisation decision and vowed to teach him a lesson in the ongoing assembly polls.

varanasi's weavers

From Varanasi North, the BJP has fielded Ravindra Jaiswal, but BSP’s Sujit Maurya, who had narrowly lost this seat in 2012 appears to have gained huge momentum in the ongoing polls. The constituency has a big Muslim population. Abdul Samad, a former SP MLA, is now the Congress candidate from here.

Jaiswal is facing considerable opposition from his own supporters as several disgruntled BJP faces have thrown their hats into the ring as independent candidates against their own party’s candidate.

In Varanasi South, Congress’s Rajesh Mishra, a former MP, is the alliance candidate of Congress-SP. The BJP has denied ticket to its sitting MLA, Shyamdev Roy Chaudhari, who won this seat seven times in the past. Varanasi South also has significant Muslim population and their vote will be crucial in determining the fate of candidates here.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here