Uttarakhand crisis: 9 Congress MLAs will not be allowed to take part in floor test


The Supreme Court on Friday said that the nine disqualified rebel Congress MLAs will not be eligible to vote in the Confidence Motion during the floor test in Uttarakhand Assembly scheduled for 10 May.

The Supreme Court of India, New Delhi.
The Supreme Court of India, New Delhi.

According to ANI, the Centre agreed to hold a floor test in the Uttarakhand Assembly under the supervision of the Supreme Court.

Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi told the apex court to appoint an observer adding that it should be a retired Chief Election Commissioner.

Also Read | Justice KM Joseph, who quashed President’s Rule in Uttarakhand, transferred to Andhra Pradesh High Court

The date of the floor test, according to NDTV, has been set for 10 May. Though ANI reported that the date was yet to be finalised and the top court will soon agree on it.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Attorney General told the apex court that the government has not been able to form an opinion on the subject and asked for two more days to come up with a decision.

Also Read | Modi government faces embarrassment in Supreme Court as judges ask uncomfortable questions on declaring emergency in Uttarakhand

However, the apex court clarified that it would hold a final hearing to dispose of this matter quickly if the Centre says no to the floor test suggestion.

Rohatgi told the media later the Supreme Court has made it clear that even if the floor test is to take place, it will not mean the restoration of status quo ante.

“Which means the position at the time when the President’s rule was imposed won’t be restored. Namely of a chief minister and a government, so that position is out,” he said.

“The actual modalities will be decided by the court, even in relation to the nine disqualified persons because their petition is pending,” he added.

An apex court bench headed by Justice Dipak Misra had on 27 April directed the continuation of President’s rule in Uttarakhand.

The Centre had imposed President’s rule in the state on 27 March.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here