After HRD, Smriti Irani now dropped from Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs too


In a reshuffle of the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA), former HRD Minister was dropped from the six cabinet committees while Prakash Javadekar was elevated as a member.

In the recent Cabinet reshuffle, Irani was moved out of the HRD Ministry to Textiles. Javadekar was earlier a special invitee to the committee.

Also Read:  OROP: Serving officers disappointed with Modi's I-Day speech, angry with Army chief too


Najma Heptulla, the Minority Affairs Minister, who had resigned from the Union Cabinet earlier this week, too was dropped from the panel.

Among others losing the membership of the CCPA includes Rajiv Pratap Rudy, who has been divested of his Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs portfolio.

The CCPA, headed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, is mandated to recommend the dates of Parliament sessions. It has 11 members, including three special invitees. Other members are Union ministers Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, M Venkaiah Naidu, Ram Vilas Paswan and Ananth Kumar.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is another special invitee, a fresh list issued by the Cabinet Secretariat said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here