Twitter debate on Padma honours: Worthy winners or rewarding bhakts?


Indian government on Monday announced the list if new Padma Awardees for 2016.

Prominent among the list are Founder of Reliance Industries late, Dhirubhai Ambani, actor Rajinikanth, media baron and founder of ETV network Ramoji Rao, Time of India group’s Indu Jain, Anupam Kher and a small time regional singer Malini Awasthi.

Awasthi with Kher was very active while organising the counter protest against the intellectuals who returned their awards over growing religious intolerance in India.

Among others actors Ajay Devgn, Priyanka Chopra and Mumbai-based lawyer Ujjwal Nikam too have been honoured.


Padma Bhushan

  • Bollywood actor Anupam Kher
  • Saina Nehwal
  • Sania Mirza
  • Udit Narayan
  • Ram Sutar
  • Former CAG Vinod Rai
  • Heisnam Kanhailal
  • Barjinder Singh Hamdard
  • Swami Tejomayananda
  • Prof N S Ramanuja Tatacharya
  • Prof D Nageshwar Reddy
  • Former US Ambassador to India Robert D Blackwill
  • Bennett, Coleman & Co’s Indu Jain.

Padma Vibhushan

  • Superstar Rajinikanth
  • Yamini Krishnamurthi
  • Girija Devi
  • Ramoji Rao (media baron)
  • Shri Shri Ravi Shankar
  • Dr Viswanathan Shanta
  • Reliance Industries founder late Dhirubhai Ambani

Padma Shri

  • Senior lawyer Ujjwal Nikam
  • Ajay Devgn
  • Priyanka Chopra
  • Malini Awasthi

The awards have reignited new debate on twitter on whether such honours are given on merit. Most users have accused the government of rewarding its loyalists.

Here are some conversations.



  1. Hey , you post tweet of fake id of celeb created by jobless, uneducated aaptards, and tell they were debating. Miya Rifat, get a lifeee…..At least have some material, facts or records for starting debate. Poor Journalism…

  2. These awards are the Nehruwian legacy that all left liberals including AAP are proud of. Now BJP is doling out to their idealogical supporters, don’t cry foul.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here