TMC candidate and Sultan Ahmed’s widow wins Uluberia Lok Sabha seat by 4,74,000 votes


After winning the Noapara assembly bypolls, the Trinamool Congress on Thursday also won  Uluberia Lok Sabha seat by 4,74,000 votes. TMC’s Sajda Ahmed defeated her nearest rival, BJP’s Anupam Mallick, in the crucial by-election.


The saffron party has emerged as the main contender in both Noapara and Uluberia seats even though there was a quadrangular contest at both the places. Uluberia, in particular, has nearly 40 percent minority votes with the constituency sending a Muslim MP to the Lok Sabha for the last four decades. The seat had fallen vacant following the death of TMC MP Sultan Ahmed. The TMC had fielded Ahmed’s widow Sajda from here.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front had given ticket to Sabiruddin Molla, while the Congress candidate here was SK Madassar Hossain Warsi and the BJP had fielded its district committee leader, Anupam Mallik.

Earlier today, the TMC’s Sunil Singh had won Noapara seat by 63,018 votes. Singh received 1,11,729 votes, while CPIM’s Gargi Chaterjee secured 35,497 votes, BJP’s Sandip Banerjee 38,711 votes and Congress’s Goutam Bose 10,527.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here