Trinamool register sensational win in civic body elections, annihilates opposition in all 7 municipalities


The ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal has made a clean sweep by winning all seven urban local bodies, where elections were held on 13 August, with increased margins.

trinamool clean sweep

Trinamool Congress tweeted the news with spokesperson and Rajya Sabha MP, Derek O’Brien calling it a ‘clean sweep.’

He wrote, “Clean sweep #BengalMunicipalPolls Here is the final tally. Bigger win than 2012.”

The seven ULBs comprise the five municipalities of Panskura and Haldia in East Midnapore district, Nalhati in Birbhum, Buniadpur in South Dinajpur and Dhupguri in Jalpaiguri districts respectively.

Polling was also held for one municipal corporation, the Durgapur Municipal Corporation (DMC) in Burdwan West district and one notified authority, the Cooper’s Camp Notified Authority in Nadia district on August 13.

In Haldia, TMC won all 29 wards. In 2012, the party had won 11 wards here. In Panskura, the party won all but one seat improving its 2012 telly here by five seats. In Durgapur, Mamata Banerjee’s party won all 43 seats, once again an improvement by 14 seats since 2012. Coopers’ camp, where the party had won only one seat five years ago, it won all 12 seats.

In the newly created municipality, Buniyadpur, the TMC won 13 out of 14 wards, while it won 12 out of 16 wards in Dhupguri.

Mamata had won a historic landslide last year when she returned to power as the state’s chief minister for the second term. Since then her winning streak has not ended. In the elections held for the local bodies in May this year, she had won four out of seven municipalities including Mirik in the hills of Darjeeling, which had been a stronghold of Gorkha Janmukti Morcha, a BJP’s ally.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here