Subramanian Swamy, Mary Kom, Navjot Sidhu, Swapan Dasgupta nominated for Rajya Sabha


Senior BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, Olympics medal-winning boxer Mary Kom, former MP and cricket commentator Navjot Singh Sidhu, journalist Swapan Dasgupta, Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, economist Narendra Jadhav have been nominated by the Prime Minister’s Office for the Rajya Sabha membership, reported ANI.

Also Read:  Eliminate safe havens for economic offenders: Modi tells G20

Reacting to the news, Kom said, “It is a great honour for me of course.”


Gopi was quoted by ANI as saying, “I will be orthodox but I will definitely be unconventional.”

There are 12 seats of nominated members in Rajya Sabha of which seven are vacant at present.

Also Read:  Journalists in Kashmir protest against assault on colleague by PDP Minister's security officials

Other five nominated members were nominated by the UPA government. They include bollywood actress Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, industrialist Anu Agha, lawyer K Parasaran, and senior advocate KTS Tulsi.

The nominated members will improve the NDA’s tally in the Upper House, where the ruling alliance lacks majority.

Also Read:  Labour Day: PM Modi salutes determination of workers

Biennial elections on as many as 54 seats is likely to be held in July this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here