Stats Highlights of the ICC World T20 Final


In collaboration with CricFact

Follow them on twitter @FactCric

2nd time West Indies have own the ICC World T20 trophy. They are the first team to win this trophy twice. West Indies were the winner of the World T20 trophy in Sri Lanka in 2012. West Indies were also the first team to win the World Cup (ODIs) twice in 1975 and 1979.

4th World Cup win by West Indies after their last night glory at Eden Gardens. West Indies are second in the list of Most World Cup Winners after Australia who have won five. India is at number three with three World Cup wins.

1st instance of same country winning both Men’s and Women’s World T20. West Indies Women also defeated the three time champions Australia Women yesterday at Eden Gardens. West Indies have also won the Under-19 World Cup this year beating India Under-19 team in Bangladesh two months ago.

6th defeat in a final of an ICC Tournament for England – Most by any team. Recently they lost to India in the final of ICC Champions Trophy 2013 in England.

85* by Marlon Samuels is the Highest Individual Score in a World T20 final. He broke his own record of 78 against Sri Lanka in the final of 2012 edition. He also equaled with Kumar Sangakkara to be the second player to have scored two half-centuries in World T20 finals.

24 Runs were scored by Carlos Brathwaite in the last over. This is the most runs scored by any team in the last over to win a T20I. The previous best was 23 runs by Australia when Michael Hussey hit Saeed Ajmal for three sixes and a four in the semi-final of 2010 World T20.

4 Sixes in 4 Balls by Carlos Brathwaite in the last over of the final match. Apart from Yuvraj Singh who hit six consecutive sixes in T20I, Brathwaite joins Rakep Patel (Kenya), Dimitri Mascarenhas (England), Justin Ontong (South Africa) to have hit Most Sixes of Consecutive Balls in T20Is. All of them hit 4 Sixes in 4 consecutive balls.

249 runs Joe Root scored in this edition of World T20. He became Most Run scorer for England in a World T20 going past Kevin Pietersen’s record of 248 runs in 2010.

2 wickets for 9 runs – Joe Root removed both West Indies openers in the first and only over he bowled in the final match. Root has taken 6 wickets so far in T20Is and his illustrious victims are Ross Taylor, Shaun Marsh, Ben Cutting, Dinesh Chandimal, Johnson Charles and Chris Gayle.

2nd Man of the Series award for Virat Kohli in two consecutive World T20s. No other player has been adjudged man of the series twice in World T20s.

2nd Man of the Match award for Marlon Samuels in World T20 Finals. No other player has got the award twice in World T20s.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here