Samajwadi Party names Amar Singh, Beni Prasad Verma for Rajya Sabha


Samajwadi Party on Tuesday “unanimously” nominated Amar Singh’s name as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha polls, setting the stage for his possible return to the party.


A PTI report said that the party had also nominated six others, including former Union minister Beni Prasad Verma.

Verma, a powerful Kurmi leader, had recently quit Congress to return to the Samajwadi Party.

Among other names is also the realtor Sanjay Seth. The biennial polls are scheduled for next month.

The seven candidates are — Beni Prasad Verma, Amar Singh, Sanjay Seth, Sukhram Singh Yadav, Reoti Raman Singh, Vishwambhar Prasad Nishad and Arvind Pratap Singh.

Shivpal Singh Yadav, Samajwadi leader and brother of Mulayam Singh Yadav, ” It will be decided by Netaji (Mulayam) and Amar Singh. We have earlier also sent Congress leaders Pramod Tiwari and P L Punia to Rajya Sabha.”

Amar Singh and his close aide Jaya Prada were expelled from the Samajwadi Party in 2010 prompting him to form his own political party, Rashtriya Lok Manch.

In 2012 assembly polls, Singh had fielded dozens of candidates, but none could win. He joined hands with Rashtriya Lok Dal for 2014 Lok Sabha elections and contested from Fatehpur Sikri, but failed to get elected.

It’s not, however, clear as to how other SP leaders such as Azam Khan will react to Singh’s nomination.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here