RTI reply says only 12,297 villages electrified in last four years


Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be completing two years in office on 26 May and his government has begun making noise about how it has achieved phenomenal success in all areas.


One of the areas the government has claimed to have made noticeable change is towards the rural electrification programme.

The scheme was called as Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana under the Congress-led UPA government, but was rechristened as Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Youjana by Modi.

Modi, while addressing the nation on 15 August, had famously announced his commitment to electrify the remining 18,000 plus villages within 1,000 days.

On 30 April, the power minister in Modi’s government, Piyush Goyal, tweeted announcing how his ministry had electrified more than 7,000 villages in the year 2015-16.

Goel had claimed it as a a major success by the Modi government by declaring the ‘feat’ as ‘new record.’

A new RTI reply said that total 12,297 villages had been electrified in the last four years, two of which had been under the BJP government.

The reply said, “During FY 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15 & 2015-16, cumulatively, 12,297 number of villages have been electrified under Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Youjana (erstwhile RGGVY), as informed by the State Government/DISCOM. Applicant is requested to contact the respective State Government/DISCOM for names of the villages electrified under DDUGJY.(sic)”

According to Rural Electrification annual report, in the first year of Modi government, 1405 villages were electrified. But, the report also showed that 7501 villages being provided electricity was no ‘new record’ after all.

Congress, during its ten years of governance between 2004 and 2014 had successfully ensured the electrification of 108,280 villages and the new record was in 2006-07, when the Manmohan Singh government carried out electrification programme of 28,706 villages.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here