Ravichandran Ashwin becomes ICC Cricketer of the Year


Indian cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin becomes the ICC Cricketer of the Year, winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

The off-spinner also picked up the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

The star cricketer said, “It’s an absolute pleasure to be awarded with this great honour. It feels great to follow the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year. To also win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year makes it even better.”

Ravichandran Ashwin
File Photo

He added, “There are a lot of people to thank for this wonderful achievement I have made. It has been a great couple of years but this year has been even more special. What is very noticeable is the way I have bowled and batted and the way I have gone about doing my business. What is more important, as far as I am concerned, is the number of people who have gone behind my success.

“I’d like to dedicate this award to my family. I’d like to thank ICC and most importantly my team-mates. I’d also like to thank the support staff for our success. We’ve had a great transition ever since Mahendra Singh Dhoni hung up his boots. A young captain has taken over, we fell on the right track, and we now have a new bunch of boys,”

More to follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here