Cong wins 19 out of 37 seats in local bodies by-polls in Rajasthan


Opposition Congress scored a major victory in by-polls of urban local bodies and Panchayati Raj Institutions in Rajasthan today winning 19 out of total 37 seats while the ruling BJP could manage 10 seats.

By-polls were held in six Zila Parishad, seven municipal council/municipality of six districts and 24 Panchayat Samiti of 17 districts on Friday and the results were announced after counting by the state election commission of Rajasthan today.

Also Read:  School bus in Rajasthan catches fire, at least 12 children injured
Representational photo

In the by-polls in six Zila Parishad, Congress won four seats, while BJP and BSP bagged one seat each.

Congress advt 2

In the Panchayat Samiti by-polls, 13 Congress candidates won while BJP won seven seats.

Also Read:  BJP team stopped by WB police from entering violence-hit area in Dhulagarh

Three independent candidates and one BSP candidate also won Panchayat samiti elections.

Congress and BJP both won two seats each and three BSP candidates won in municipal council/ municipality elections.

PCC President Sachin Pilot congratulated the party workers on the victory.

Also Read:  IAS officer in Rajasthan govt makes defamatory comments against Janta Ka Reporter, tweets in serious breach of Services (Conduct) Rules

“The results of by-polls in urban and rural areas have made clear that people are unhappy with the BJP rule in the state,” said Pilot.

“BJP faced defeat in CM’s home turf Dholpur which is a proof that people are not satisfied with the functioning of the government,” he added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here