Congress, BJP win 12 seats each in Rajasthan Panchayati Raj bypolls


In the bypolls for the Pachayati Raj Institutions (PRI) in Rajasthan, the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress have won 12 seats each of the total 26 seats.

Rajasthan Panchayati Raj
file photo- BJP MLA

Meanwhile, quoting state election commission spokesperson, PTI reported that the result of the Panchayat Samiti of Gadraroad in Barmer district was awaited.

The Congress and the BJP candidates won seats in Alwar, Baran, Chittorgarh, Barmer, Churu, Dungarpur, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Nagaru, Sawaimadhopur, Sirohi, Sriganganagar, Pratapgarh and Udaipur districts.

Upbeat over the party’s victory in rural areas, PCC president Sachin Pilot in a statement said villagers were feeling neglected under the BJP rule.

“The government’s insensitivity towards farmers reflected sorry state of affairs as there were over 20 cases of farmers suicide in the state,” he said.

The Raje government’s failure has led to this situation that before the completion of its five-year term in 2018, people have lost faith in the BJP, Pilot said.

A BJP spokesman, Anand Sharma, told The Tribune that the PRI polls were held at local level as panchayats were independent institutions and the government does not interfere. The popularity of the Raje government was much more in villages than the Congress, Sharma said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here