Raj Babbar removed as UP Congress chief, replaced by Ajay Kumar Lallu


The Congress party has replaced Raj Babbar with Ajay Kumar Lallu as the new chief of the Uttar Pradesh Congress. The decision came months after the party suffered a humiliating defeat in the Lok Sabha elections winning just one of the 80 seats in the state. Among those losing his seat in the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh was the then Congress President Rahul Gandhi. The only seat won by the Congress was in Raebareli, which was won by Sonia Gandhi with a reduced margin.

Ajay Kumar Lallu

Reacting to his appointment, Lallu, who represents Tamkuhi Raj constituency in the Uttar Pradesh assembly, told news agency PTI, “It would be my first priority to change people’s perception of the party for which issues related to people will be raised in an effective manner both inside the Assembly as well as on the roads.”

The Congress also made Aradhana Misra ‘Mona’ the leader Congress Legislative Party in the UP assembly.

Elsewhere, the Congress president Sonia Gandhi made Gaurav Gogoi the AICC in-charge of Tripura and Manipur, relieving Luizinho Faleiro of the post. Faleiro, meanwhile, will continue to be the AICC general secretary in-charge for other north-eastern states.

This came days after former Tripura Congress Chief Pradyot Debbarman resigned from the party complaining about the style of functioning of Faleiro.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here