President appoints 5 governors, but Purohit’s selection is key


President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday appointed five new governors and one lieutenant governor including one for Tamil Nadu, which hasn’t had a full-time governor for months.


Those appointed today include Brig (retd) BD Mishra, Satya Pal Malik, Jagdish Mukhi, Ganga Prasad, Banwarilal Purohit, Admiral (retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi and Ganga Prasad.

Malik has been appointed for Bihar, while Mishra will go to Arunachal Pradesh and Mukhi Assam. Joshi is the new LG of Andaman and Nicobar islands and Purohit, an ex-Congressman, is the new governor of Tamil Nadu. Prasad has been made the governor of North-eastern state of Meghalaya.

Malik told ANI, “I understand the responsibility given to me and will fulfill it whole-heartedly.”

Purohit’s appointment assumes more significance given the turmoil in Tamil Nadu politics. The BJP is actively trying to gain foothold in the southern Indian state. Purohit is a former Congress MP, who had joined BJP.

Originally from Mahrashtra’s Vidarbha region, Purohit represented Nagpur as an MP. In 1984 and 1989, he elected the Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency on Congress ticket before he quit the party to join the BJP. In 1996, he was elected to the Lok Sabha on BJP ticket.

He was sacked from the Congress for taking party in kar seva in Ayodhya in 1991. But the party accepted him back again in 1999, but failed to get himself elected. In 2009, he once tried his luck on BJP ticket but lost to Congress’s Vilas Muttemwar.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here