Preparations complete for tomorrow’s assembly elections in Tamil Nadu and Kerala


Tamil Nadu and Kerala go to polls on Monday bringing the end to month-and-a-half long election process to end.

Monday’s elections will decide the fate of two incumbent chief ministers, Jayalalithaa in Tamil Nadu and Oommen Chandy in Kerala.


Puducherry also goes to the polls tomorrow.

Counting of votes in Tamil Nadu and Kerala will begin on 19 May along with other states, namely West Bengal, Assam and Puducherry.

Also Read:  BJP IT cell official's tweet asks people to kill JNU professors and students, later deletes it
Congress advt 2

Besides AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa and 91-year-old wheelchair-bound Karunanidhi, the poll arena in Tamil Nadu also has two other chief ministerial candidates–actor-turned politician Vijayakant of DMDK-PWF-TMC combine and PMK’s Anbumani Ramadoss.

Also Read:  "I was called at big people's houses. I was told if I open my mouth, I will be finished"

PTI reported that a total of 3,740 aspirants will be in the fray for the 233 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.

Election authorities have seized more than Rs 500 crore unaccounted cash in the state, the largest among the five states involved in the Assembly polls.

Tamil Nadu is known to generally elect one clear winner from the two Dravidian giants, DMK and AIADMK, since 1967.

Also Read:  Ease of doing business: Kejriwal government claims credit for improved ranking

In Kerala, the direct contest is usually between the two alliances, Congress-led UDF and CPIM-led LDF. Opinion polls have given edge to the LDF, which is seeking to dislodge the Oommen Chandy government.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here