Postal stamps featuring Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi stopped, New stamps to feature SP Mookherjee, Yoga and DD Upaddhyaya: RTI


Indian government led by Narendra Modi discontinued with two stamps that featured former prime ministers, India Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi, reveals an RTI query by Indian Express.

Department of Posts in December 2008 had launched a series titled Builders of Modern India, with nine eminent personalities on stamps of different denominations. Rajiv and Indira featured on Rs 5 denominations, but the current government discontinued with them in July 2015.


The personalities, who were included under the series Builders of Modern India were Jawaharlal Nehru, Mahatma Gandhi, B R Ambedkar, Satyajit Ray, Homi Jehangir Bhabha, J R D Tata and Mother Teresa.

According to the RTI reply, Indira and Rajiv were the only leaders on Rs 5 denominations, which the government discontinued last year.

The government is now planning to introduce stamps featuring Deendayal Upadhyaya, Jayaprakash Narayan, Syama Prasad Mookerjee and Ram Manohar Lohia under a new series titled Makers of India. The new series will have more names including Jawaharlal Nehru, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa and B R Ambedkar. There will also be a stamp on yoga. The new series will also have names such as Vallabhbhai Patel, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Subhas Chandra Bose, Rajendra Prasad, Maulana Azad, Bhagat Singh, Rabindranath Tagore, Chhatrapati Shivaji, Maharana Pratap, Vivekananda, Subramania Bharti, Pandit Ravi Shankar, Bhimsen Joshi, M S Subbulakshmi and Bismillah Khan.

The central government has already replaced the names of two awards — Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar and Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar — with Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar and Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar earlier this year.

Pizza Hut


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here