Polling underway in last phase of Bihar elections


Polling began on Thursday in 57 constituencies in the fifth and final round of the Bihar assembly elections in some of the state’s most backward pockets notorious for poverty, illiteracy as well as migration.

The pockets are also home to a sizeable Muslim and Yadav population whom everyone is aggressively wooing.

Also Read:  Leaders caught in corruption will not be spared: Kejriwal

Voting which began at 7 a.m. will end at 5 p.m.

About 1.55 crore voters will be eligible to decide the political fate of 827 candidates in this phase in seven districts — Kishanganj, Purnea, Araria and Katihar in Seemanchal region, and Saharsa, Madhepura and Supaul in Kosi region.

Also Read:  Popular British newspaper The Independent closes print edition, to become digital-only

This phase is crucial for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his allies, RJD chief Lalu Prasad and the Congress, as well as the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA in the keen battle to control the 243-seat Bihar assembly.

Also Read:  BJP criticises state's move to rename West Bengal

The millions of votes polled in the staggered elections that began on October 12 will be counted on 8 November.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here