Petrol pumps in 8 states will be shut every Sunday beginning 14 May


Beginning May 14, fuel outlets in eight states will be shut every Sunday following Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s call to conserve oil, a fuel pump owners’ body said here on Tuesday.

petrol pumps sunday
file photo

“We had planned to shut our outlets on Sundays a few years back. But oil marketing companies had then requested us to reconsider our decision. Now we have decided to shut the outlets on Sundays,” said Suresh Kumar, an executive committee member of the consortium of Indian petroleum dealers.

Also Read:  'Accidental' explosion injures 12 army jawans in Kashmir, seven critical

He said the association’s decision was made in view of the Prime Minister’s call during his recent ‘Mann ki baat’ programme to conserve oil to save the environment.

Mr Kumar, also the vice-president of Tamil Nadu Petroleum Dealers Association, said nearly 20,000 outlets in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra and Haryana would be shut for 24 hours on Sundays, starting May 14.

Also Read:  Twitter users troll Colors as #ComedyNightsLIVE is declared flop show

“In Tamil Nadu, we expect a business loss of Rs. 150 crore if we do not operate on a Sunday. But we have been seeing a decline in sales on Sundays by upto 40 per cent,” he said.

Also Read:  Nitish's frequent change of stand doesn't show him in good light: Virbhadra

Asked if the association’s decision was supported by the OMCs, he said, “We will communicate our decision to them shortly.”

Mr Kumar said the fuel outlets which normally have about 15 staff each would have one staff member on the holidays to provide fuel if there was an emergency situation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here