Over 25 pc voting till 11 AM in Karnaprayag


Karnaprayag Assembly constituency in Uttarakhand went to polls today with nearly 25.4 per cent votes being cast by 11 AM.

The election office said around 25.4 per cent polling was recorded in the seat which falls under Chamoli district by 11 AM.

Image courtesy: en.etemaaddaily.com

There are 179 polling booths in Karnaparayag. There are 91,849 voters, including 46,268 men and 45,581 women, who will exercise their franchise.

They will decide the fate of nine candidates, including Deputy Speaker of the state Assembly Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri of the Congress, S S Negi of the BJP and Jyoti Kanwasi of the BSP, besides six others including Samajwadi Party, UKD and Independent nominees.

Polling in the constituency, which was scheduled on February 15 with the rest of the state, was rescheduled by the Election Commission following the death of BSP candidate Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi in a road accident on February 12.

Consequently, polling was held in 69 out of a total of 70 seats in Uttarakhand on that date.

Watch here for our latest video update, Speak up India episode 2 by Rifat Jawaid, editor-in-chief, Janta Ka Reporter

(With inputs from PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here