Not bound to call AAP MLAs for oral hearing: EC to High Court


The Election Commission of India has reportedly told the High Court that it was not bound to call the 20 MLAs for oral hearing before recommending their disqualifications to President Ram Nath Kovind.

PHOTO: @AamAadmiParty

In its affidavit filed before the Delhi High Court, the poll body also said that it gave ‘ample opportunity (to AAP MLAs) to come and participate in several hearings” earlier but the they  “gave only illusionary responses,” reported NDTV.

The EC had recommended the disqualifications of 20 AAP MLAs last month. The President had later approved their disqualifications prompting at least eight of them to approach the High Court. The court had later directed the EC not to issue any notifications for by-polls in these seats.

The disqualified MLAs are Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Alka Lamba (Chandni Chowk), Anil Bajpai (Gandhi Nagar), Avtar Singh (Kalkaji), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh), Madan Lal (Kasturba Nagar), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli), Nitin Tyagi (Laxmi Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura), Rajesh Gupta (Wazirpur), Rajesh Rishi Janakpuri), Sanjeev Jha (Burari), Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar), Som Dutt (Sadar Bazar), Sharad Kumar (Narela), Shiv Charan Goel (Moti Nagar), Sukhbir Singh (Mundka), Vijendar Garg (Rajinder Nagar) and Jarnail Singh (Tilak Nagar).

Delhi High Court last week had transferred the the appeal filed by 20 AAP MLAs against their disqualifications by the President of India on the recommendations of the Election Commission to a larger bench.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here