NDA announces seat sharing deal in Bihar, Nawada taken away from controversial BJP leader Giriraj Singh

गिरिराज सिंह

The National Democratic Alliance, also known as the NDA, on Sunday announced its seat sharing deal for this year’s Lok Sabha polls. According to the alliance deal, both the BJP and the Janata Dal-United will contest on 17 seats each, while Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party has been given six seats.


Seats where the BJP will field its candidates are East Champaran, West Champaran, Sheohar, Madhubani, Araria, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Ujiarpur, Begusarai, Patna Sahib, Patrliputra, Ara, Buxar, Sasaram-SC, Aurangabad.

The sitting Darbhanga MP, Kirti Azad, has left the party tp join the Congress. The BJP has also given away its Nawada seat to the LJP, which has also received Vaishali, Hajipur (SC), Samastipur (SC), Khagaria, Jamui (SC). This means that the BJP’s sitting MP and Union Minister Giriraj Singh will have to find a new seat for the 2019 polls.

Seats being allotted to the JDU are Valmiki Nagar, Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Madhepura, Gopalganj (SC), Siwan, Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Nalanda, Karakat, Jahanabad and Gaya (SC).

Bihar will go to polls in seven phases with the votes being counted on 23 May. The decision to hold polls for more than 50 percent seats in Bihar during the Holy month of Ramadan, when Muslims will be fasting during the day, had become hugely controversial topic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here