MP Minister Narottam Mishra Disqualified From Voting In Presidential Poll


Madhya Pradesh Minister Narottam Mishra has been disqualified from voting in the Presidential poll, an Election Commission (EC) official said.

Narottam Mishra

The official said the electoral roll does have the name of Mr Mishra but it is followed by the word “disqualified.” On June 24, the EC had disqualified Mr Mishra for three years over paid news charges, holding him guilty of not giving a true account of expenses incurred in the 2008 assembly polls.

According to the official, the MP assembly has 230 members but with the demise of Congress legislator from Chitrakoot seat Prem Singh and Mr Mishra being disqualified, 228 legislators will cast their votes.
Ballot papers, ballot boxes and special pens have been put in place for the poll which will be held between 10 am and 5 pm, he added.

The electorate will cast their votes with special pens, which would be given to them, said the official. Following the ink controversy in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana last year, the EC has decided to use special pens for the electors to mark their votes in the presidential and vice presidential polls.

Specially serial-numbered pens with violet ink have been supplied by the Election Commission to ensure that only the writing instrument issued by it is used by voters to mark their votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here