Mass transfers of police and IAS officers in Punjab by Election Commission


Election Commission on Tuesday transferred eight police officers, including an IGP rank officer in poll-bound Punjab.

Naunihal Singh will be Inspector General of Police (Law and Order), while Gurpreet Singh Gill will be the new Commandant of Indian Reserve Battalion (IRB) at Patiala, an official said.

Election Commission

The other police officers shifted are of Punjab Police Service (PPS) cadre, he said.

Diljinder Singh will be the new Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Amritsar while Mandeep Singh has been posted as the DCP Ludhiana.

Assembly elections in Punjab will be held on 4 February.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission tonight transferred three IAS and eight PCS officers.

An official spokesman said among IAS officers, Sonali Giri has been posted as Additional Development Commissioner (ADC) Amritsar while Komal Mittal and Ruhee Dugg have been posted as SDM Payal and SDM Dera Bassi respectively.

While PCS officers Sandeep Hans, Charandeep Mann, TPS Phulka, Bakhtawar Singh have also been shifted by the Commission.

The Commission asked the officers to take the charge of their new assignments immediately, the spokesman said.

(With PTI inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here