Mamata Banerjee takes oath as chief minister of Bengal


Trinamool leader Mamata Banerjee took oath as West Bengal’s chief minister for the second time after winning a historic mandate in the just concluded assembly elections.

Among those who attended Mamata’s swearing in ceremony included the RJD chief, Lalu Yadav, Delhi chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal, Uttar Pradesh chief minister, Akhilesh Yadav and Union Finance Minister, Arun Jaitley.


Mamata’s new cabinet is likely to have 42 ministers.

According to ANI,  this was the first time that West Bengal witnessed a swearing-in-ceremony of a government outside the Raj Bhavan.

The function was organised at famous Red Road.

Kolkata Mayor Shovan Chatterjee, former Indian cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla and singer Indranil Sen are among the 17 new faces in the 42-member ministry.

The VVIPs at the event also included the Prime Minister of Bhutan, Tshering Tobgay, the industry minister of Bangladesh and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Later in the day, Mamata will chair her first cabinet meeting right after taking oath, where the Kolkata Police will accord her a guard of honour at the lobby.

Congress vice president, Rahul Gandhi congratulated the Trinamool leader on becoming the chief minister for the second time.

He tweeted, “Congratulations to ji on being sworn in as Chief Minister.My best wishes to her & the Cabinet for the term ahead.”


More to follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here