Lok Sabha polls end after 7 phase of polling, exit polls next


The seven-phase Lok Sabha elections finally ended today after the last phase of elections saw 59 remaining seats going to polls today. Among those seats going for polls today also included Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking a second term from.

Lok Sabha

Today’s polling was held for all 13 seats in Punjab, similar number of seats in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and the lone seat of Chandigarh.

The campaigning for the last phase of elections had come to an end on Friday, when Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed a press conference, while Modi had faced flak for refusing take questions from reporters.

Over 10 crore voters were expected to cast their votes today to decide the fate of 918 candidates. This year’s elections have been one of the most bitterly fought with the role of the Election Commission coming under sharp scrutiny. On Saturday, the national poll body slipped into a deep crisis after it emerged that Election Commission Ashok Lavasa had decided to skip all meetings related to complaints of Model Code of Conduct violations since his previous dissent had not been included in EC’s orders.

An embarrassed Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora was forced to issue a statement calling the controversy over Lavasa’s letter ‘avoidable’ and ‘unsavory.’

Today, several constituencies also saw bypolls. This includes Panaji assembly seat, which fell vacant due to the death of former Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar. Bypolls were also held in four assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu — Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram.

Aside from Modi, other prominent names going to polls today were Union minister Manoj Sinha, SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal and union ministers Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Singh Puri, Actor Sunny Deol, Aam Aadmi Party’s Punjab unit chief Bhagwant Mann, union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ram Kripal Yadav, RK Singh and Ashwini Kumar Choubey and Shatrughan Sinha of the Congress among others.

Here are the live Updates :

  • 53.03% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm: Bihar-46.75%, Himachal Pradesh- 57.43%, Madhya Pradesh-59.75%, Punjab-50.49%, Uttar Pradesh-47.21%, West Bengal- 64.87%, Jharkhand-66.64%, Chandigarh-51.18% in #Phase7 of #LokSabhaElections2019 (ANI)

  • 51.95% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm: Bihar-46.66%, Himachal Pradesh- 49.43%, Madhya Pradesh-57.27%, Punjab-48.18%, Uttar Pradesh-46.07%, West Bengal- 63.58%, Jharkhand-64.81%, Chandigarh-50.24% in #Phase7 of #LokSabhaElections2019 (ANI)

  • Varanasi: Congress’s Ajay Rai who is contesting against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in parliamentary constituency of Varanasi, said after casting his vote at a polling booth here earlier today, “work is being carried out in Varanasi on a temporary basis, nothing is permanent” (ANI)
  • 39.85% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm: Bihar-36.20%, Himachal Pradesh- 34.47%, Madhya Pradesh-43.89%, Punjab-36.66%, Uttar Pradesh-36.37%, West Bengal- 47.55, Jharkhand-52.89%, Chandigarh-35.60% in #Phase7 of #LokSabhaElections2019 (ANI)

  • Voter turnout recorded till 9 am: Bihar-10.65%, Himachal Pradesh- 0.87%, Madhya Pradesh-7.16%, Punjab-4.64%, Uttar Pradesh-5.97%, West Bengal- 10.54, Jharkhand-13.19%, Chandigarh-10.40% in #Phase7 of #LokSabhaElections2019 (ANI)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here