Maharashtra, Haryana vote in assembly elections with advantage for BJP


Maharashtra and Haryana today voted to elect new governments with the ruling BJP in driving seat in both the states. The voters’ turnout in Maharashtra at 5 PM was 44.6%, while Haryana recorded 53.7%.


Both states currently have BJP governments. While Devendra Fadnavis is seeking re-election in Maharashtra, his party’s Manohar Lal Khattar has vowed to return to power with a bigger majority this time around in the 90-seat Haryana assembly.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had earlier tweeted, “I urge voters in these states and seats to turnout in record numbers and enrich the festival of democracy.”

In Maharashtra, BJP is fighting with its traditional ally, the Shiv Sena, while the Congress has once again teamed up with the NCP. The BJP is contesting 150 seats, while the Shiv Sena has been allotted 124 seats. In the outgoing Maharashtra assembly, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance had 217 seats.

This is the first time a member of the Thackeray clan is taking part in the electoral politics with Aditya Thackeray trying his luck from Worli. Experts say that his victory from this Mumbai seat will be a mere formality.

Under the seat-sharing deal, Aditya will be the new deputy chief minister of the state if the BJP-Shiv Sena return to the government after the elections.

In Haryana, where the BJP defeated the Congress five years ago by winning 48 out of 90 seats, Khattar has vowed to win at least 75 seats this time around.

Today will also see byelections to 51 assembly and two Lok Sabha seats across 18 states of assembly seats. This includes 11 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh alone. Two Lok Sabh seats going for elections today were Samastipur in Bihar and Satara in Maharashtra.

Campaigning for this year’s assembly elections has been dull in the wake of the principal opposition party, the Congress, facing a near-rout in the Lok Sabha polls.

Here are the live updates:

  • Chhattisgarh: 74.39% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm for the by-polls in Chitrakote assembly constituency. (ANI)
  • BJP national working president JP Nadda to hold a meeting with party’s General Secretaries tomorrow at BJP HQ over #MaharashtraAssemblyPolls and #HaryanaAssemblyPolls. Discussions regarding party functions on birth anniversary of Sardar Patel, on 31st Oct, will also be taken up. (ANI)

  • #HaryanaAssemblyPolls: 50.59% poll percentage recorded till 3:30 pm in Haryana. (ANI)
  • 36.90% voter turnout recorded in 11 assembly constituencies till 3pm in the state in #ByElection2019 (ANI)
  • #MaharashtraAssemblyElections: 35% poll percentage recorded in Mumbai City district till 3 pm. (ANI)

  • The polling percentage across 288 Assembly Constituencies in Maharashtra is 30.89% till 1 pm. (ANI)

  • Haryana CM ML Khattar after casting his vote in Karnal: Voting is underway peacefully across the state. Opposition parties including Congress have already lost and have left the battleground, their tall claims have no value. (ANI) #HaryanaAssemblyPolls

  • 5% polling till 9 am in Mumbai city district’s 10 assembly constituencies. (ANI)

  • Khattar tweets photo of his train journey to Karnal to cast his vote

  • Khattar says breakfast only after the vote.
  • Voting is an integral part of democracy, says Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here