List of 98 nominated Smart Cities are out


Union minister Venkiah Naidu on Thursday unveiled a list of 98 cities that have made it past the first round. These cities included 24 state capitals and coverd about 35% of urban India’s population.

UP will soon have the most number of smart cities, 13, with Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh following behind with 12, 10 and 7 respectively. Bihar and Andhra Pradesh will get 3 smart cities each.

The plan will be implemented in 3 phases, starting with 20 cities this year followed by batches of 40. Each city will receive Rs 100 crore per year for the next five years to implement its ideas.

Based on their ability to deliver multi fold sustainable results and self finance, a mix of big and small cities have been selected.

They include Lucknow, Kanpur, Agra, Rampur, Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Varanasi, Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Baroda, Greater Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Guwhati, Agartala, Shillong and Madurai.

Itanagar, Shimla, Kolkata, Patna and Bengaluru are among 9 state capitals that didn’t make the cut. In UP, there was a tie between Meerut and Rae Bareilly with both accumulating same number of points.

“The prime motive is to enhance urban life, mission is very practical and realistic. We need public participation,” said Naidu.

While launching the project in June, PM Modi had said “Urban Planning should begin from the bottom.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here