Did you know Virat Kohli has now joined Top -10 run scorers in T20I?



5-0 New Zealand maintains a clean record against India in Twenty 20 Internationals. They have played 5 matches against India since 2007 ICC World T20 and have won all of them.

cric 1

127 is the lowest target India could not successfully chase in a full Twenty over game.
79 is India’s 2nd lowest completed score in a Twenty 20 International matches and lowest while playing at home for India. Incidentally 3 of the lowest scores for India have come in the last 6 months.


127 is the 2nd instance where New Zealand to have defended a target fewer than 127. New Zealand had defended a target of 121 against Sri Lanka at Lauderhill, Florida in 2010.

9 wickets by spinners is the 3rd instance where spinners have taken 9 wickets in a team innings and 1st time for New Zealand. Kiwi spinners took 9 Indian wickets for 44 runs in 11 overs at Nagpur. The previous two instances were by Zimbabwe against Canada at King City, and by Sri Lanka against Zimbabwe at Hambantota.

7-43 was India’s score at 10.2 overs. This is the 1st instance of India losing 7 wickets below a team score of 50.

23 is the number of runs Virat Kohli scored at Nagpur. While taking a single off Nathan McCullum and reaching to a score of 15, Kohli entered into the Top – 10 list of Run Scorers in T20I going past Kumar Sangakkara. Given so many players are at the verge of entering into the list, there is going to be a cat and mouse game in this tournament.

4-11 is Mitchell Santner’s best bowling figures in T20I. It is also the best bowling performance by a visiting spin bowler while playing in India and 2nd best performance by a spin bowler on Indian soil. 4 for 8 by R Ashwin against Sri Lanka at Visakhapatnam is the best bowling by a spinner in India.

7 number of T20I matches India had won on the trot before the game against New Zealand at Nagpur. Had India won, they would have equaled the record for most consecutive wins in T20I with Ireland and England.

One silver lining, New Zealand was the only team India lost to in the 2007 ICC World T20 in South Africa. India went on to become the champions. Will history repeat itself?

Contributed by – Twitter @FactCric


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here