Gujarat civic body results: BJP suffers huge losses, but no significant gains for Congress


The BJP won 44 out of 75 municipalities of Gujarat, where the results were held on 17 February, while Congress had to contend with 13.  BJP currently rules 59 of the 75 municipal corporations in the state. Today’s results showed that the saffron party had suffered a loss of 15 seats.

Ticket allocations
Photo courtesy: dna

But this did not result in the automatic gain for the Congress, which could only add two more municipalities than what it held before this year’s polls. Five went to other parties, there was no winner in seven municipalities, while three civic bodies experienced tie.

Also Read:  Allegedly harrassed by Gujarat police, women with two daughters attempt suicide

The BJP won Jafrabad, Lathi and Chalala barely four months after it lost all five seats in the district to Congress party in assembly elections.

Congressregistered a huge victory in Rajula municipality in Amreli by toppling the BJP. The Congress won 27 out of 28 while the BJP’s tally was reduced to just 1, reported India Express.Rajula is hometown of Amrish Der, the Congress candidate who defeated BJP’s four-time MLA, Hira Solanki, on his way to winning Rajula Assembly constituency.

Also Read:  'Because in Gujarat, it's always been about Khaunga, aur Khaane Doonga' twitter explodes on land grab revelation

The 75 municipalities are spread over 28 districts of the state. BJP had won Jafrabad municipality unopposed.

In the crucial assembly polls held last year, the BJP had narrowly won the polls with the Congress making significant improvement in its performance by adding 19 more seats than its tally in 2012. The BJP, on the other hand, had lost more 17 seats.


  • BJP wins Dhandhuka Nagar Palika. The saffron party has won 14 seats while the Congress has got 13.
  • Congress registers a huge victory in Rajula municipality in Amreli by toppling the BJP. The Congress won 27 out of 28 while the BJP’s tally was reduced to just 1
  • BJP snatches away Chalala municipality from Congress.
  • BJP retians Gadhda municipality in Botad district and Dwarka municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district.
  • Congress has defeated BJP in Salaya municipality in Devbhumi Dwarka district by winning the civic body here. The BJP was leading here when the counting began.
  • BJP retains Kalavad and A Jamjodhpur municipalities in Jamnagar district, also wrests control of Dhrol municipality from Congress.
Also Read:  Non-Hindus now require prior permission for entry into Somnath temple


  1. The results show no significant trend. People expressed their disappointment with ruling party but not inclined towards congress. Thus Congress has to do a lot of ground work to woo their voters back


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here