Fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls in 72 seats of across in 9 states underway


Polling for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha polls covering 72 seats spread across nine states have begun. These seats also include Bihar’s high-profile Begusarai seat in Bihar, where CPI’s Kanhaiya Kumar is locking horns with BJP’s Giriraj Singh and Tanweer Hassan of the RJD.


Five seats of Bihar, 13 seats each of Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra’s 17 seats, six seats each from Odisha and Madhya Pradesh, three seats from Jharkhand and one seat from Jammu and Kashmir will see people cast their votes in these states.

The BJP has a tall task in this phase since the party had won 45 seats in 2014 elections. Other than Kanhaiya Kumar and Giriraj Singh, other notable candidates whose fate will be decided in today’s elections are Subhash Bhamre, SS Ahluwalia and Babul Supriyo of the BJP and former Union ministers Salman Khurshid and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury of the Congress.

Also in the fray are Priya Dutt (Congress), Baijayant Panda (BJP), Urmila Matondkar (Congress), Dimple Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Satabdi Roy (TMC), Upendra Kushwaha (RLSP), and Milind Deora (Congress).

The BJP had swept both Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan in 2014, but the party lost both the states in the assembly elections, held in December last year.

Today’s elections will also be important for political dynasties. In Maharashtra, NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s grandnephew Parth Pawar is making his electoral debut from Maval Lok Sabha constituency, while in Rajasthan, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s son, Vaibhav Gehlot, too is contesting from Jodhpur for the first time. Gehlot has been accused of spending too much time campaigning for his son and neglecting other candidates as a star campaigner.

Former Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s son Dushyant Singh too is contesting from halawar-Baran Lok Sabha constituency. He had won this seat in 2014.

Live updates:

  • Polling underway for 72 seats in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here