Fans react in disbelief after India drop KL Rahul from playing XI against Australia in first pink-ball Test; Prithvi Shaw’s inclusion criticised


The Indian cricket team has dropped its star batsman KL Rahul from the first pink-ball Test against Australia scheduled to start from 17 December. Instead, they have opted for Prithvi Shaw evoking strong reactions from fans.

The playing XI announced by the team management includes Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.

Shubman Gill and KL Rahul have kept in the team as reserves along with Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj and Ravindra Jadeja.

Fans reacted in disbelief on the exclusion of Rahul and Gill.

KL Rahul was the top-scorer in the recently-concluded IPL competition. In contrast, Prithvi Shaw has come under severe criticism for his inability to play big innings in any formats of the game.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here