21 Delhi Police personnel awarded medals


Twenty-one Delhi Police personnel, including six female officers, have been awarded the President’s police medals for exemplary services on the occasion of Independence Day.

Delhi Police

The President’s Police Medal for Gallantry was awarded to Additional DCP (retired) S K Giri. The President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service was awarded to Joint Commissioner of Police (Operations) Robin Hibu and ACP Suresh Chand Tyagi.

The 24 recipients of Police Medal for Meritorious Service include Special Cell DCP P S Kushwah, who was instrumental in some high profile arrests including that of Mumbai-based don Ashwini Naik.

In 2003, as an Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), Kushwah had unearthed a conspiracy by Lashkar-e-Taiba to execute a blast near India Gate.

Also, in the same year, he apprehended Jafar Umar, linked to terrorist outfit Hizb-ul-Mujahideen. Umar was later convicted by a trial court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here