Congress says it has left 7 out of 80 seats for SP, BSP and RLD


The Congress on Sunday said that it had left seven out of 80 parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh for the SP, the BSP and the RLD adding that the party will not field any candidates in these constituencies.


Speaking to reporters in Lucknow on Sunday, UP Congress chief Raj Babbar said that the seats left by his party were Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and ‘whatever seats Mayawati ji and RLD’s Jayant (Chaudhary) ji and Ajit Singh contest from.’

The party on Saturday had announced a seat sharing arrangement with the Apna Dal by allocating two seats, namely Gonda and Pilibhit to them.

Babbar also said that his party had struck a pre-poll alliance seven seats with Jan Adhikar party (JAP). Of these seven seats, he added, the JAP will fight on five and we will fight on 2.’

Uttar Pradesh has 80 parliamentary seats and a decent performance in the state is key to forming a government at the Centre. In 2014, the BJP and Anupriya Patel-led Apna Dal had won 73 seats. Experts say that the Congress’ inability to strike pre-poll alliance with Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav before the polls may help the BJP, which is likely to benefit from the division in secular votes.

Uttar Pradesh goes to polls in seven stages with the counting scheduled for 23 May.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here